Business of the House for June 23, 2017

Date : 23-06-2017

The Hon. Karu Jayasuriya, the Speaker took the Chair.

Announcements by the Speaker

‘A’  :  To take up the Motion under Standing Orders 17 which was not taken up on 22.06.2017

Nominations made by the Committee of Selection to the Sectoral Oversight Committees on -
‘B’  :  Economic Development 
‘C’  :  Legal Affairs (anti-corruption) and Media
‘D’  :  Reconciliation and North and East Reconstruction

‘E’ :  Limiting time for Questions only for one hour

Presentation of Papers

Annual Performance Reports of the;

(i) Department of Project Management and Monitoring for the year 2016
(ii) Polonnaruwa District Secretariat for the year 2016
(iii) Department of Registration of Persons for the year 2016

Annual Reports of the;

(iv) Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Regulatory Council for the year 2015
(v) State Mortgage and Investment Bank for the year 2014
(vi) National Institute of Fisheries and Nautical Engineering (Ocean University) for the year 2013

Presentation of Reports from the Committees

(i) Second Report (From 04.05.2016 to 28.10.2016) of the Committee on Public Accounts for the first session of the Eighth Parliament was presented by its Chairman, the Hon. Lasantha Alagiyawanna.

(ii) The Report of the Sectoral Oversight Committee on International Relations was presented by the Hon. Eran Wickramaratne, member of the Committee on behalf of the Chairman of the Committee, the Hon. Ranjith Aluvihare.

Presentation of Petitions

(i) Hon. Chandima Weerakkody                -               Three Petitions
(ii) Hon. A. Aravindh Kumar                   
(iii) Hon. Sujith Sanjaya Perera                -               Three Petitions

(Petition stands referred to the Committee on Public Petitions)

Questions under Standing Order 23(2) of the Parliament

The Hon. Douglas Devananda

Illegal fishing in seas of Mannar south and Palk Strait

Hon. Mahinda Amaraweera, Minister of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development and State Minister of Mahaweli Development replied to the above Question.

Votes of Condolence

Votes of Condolence on the following Ex-Members of Parliament were taken up and completed:-

(i) The Late Hon. A. M. S. Adikari
(ii) The Late Hon. Chandra Ranatunga
(iii) The Late Hon. Maithripala Herath
(iv) The Late Hon. Ariyaratne Jayatilleke

Motion at the Adjournment Time

Motion at the Adjournment Time on the “Incident took place at the Ministry of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine on 21.06.2017” was proposed by the Hon. Dinesh Gunawardena.

The Parliament was, thereafter adjourned at 1715 Hrs. until 1300 Hrs. on Tuesday 4th July 2017.




*  This is an unedited version. For the official record of this day's proceedings, please refer the Hansard.


Submit to Delicious Submit to Digg Submit to Facebook Submit to Google Bookmarks Submit to Twitter Submit to LinkedIn

Parliament Calendar

download parliament mobile app

Mailing List Subscription

Copyright © The Parliament of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.

Solution by: Lankacom