10 ß 80 II III

(Eighth Parliament - First Session)

No. 237. ]

# MINUTES OF PARLIAMENT

Tuesday, February 06, 2018 at 10.30 a.m.

\_

## **PRESENT:**

Hon. Karu Jayasuriya, Speaker

Hon. Thilanga Sumathipala, Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Committees

Hon. Ranil Wickremesinghe, Prime Minister and Minister of National Policies and
Economic Affairs
Hon. Wajira Abeywardana, Minister of Home Affairs
Hon. John Amaratunga, Minister of Tourism Development and Christian Religious
Affairs
Hon. Mahinda Amaraweera, Minister of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources
Development and State Minister of Mahaweli Development
Hon. Gayantha Karunatileka, Minister of Lands and Parliamentary Reforms and the
Chief Government Whip
Hon. Lakshman Kiriella, Minister of Higher Education and Highways and Leader of
the House of Parliament
Hon. Dayasiri Jayasekara, Minister of Sports
Hon. Gamini Jayawickrama Perera, Minister of Sustainable Development and
Wildlife and Minister of Buddhasasana
Hon. A. D. Susil Premajayantha, Minister of Science, Technology and Research
Hon. Tilak Marapana, Minister of Development Assignments
Hon. Faiszer Musthapha, Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Government
Hon. Arjuna Ranatunga, Minister of Petroleum Resources Development
Hon. Malik Samarawickrama, Minister of Development Strategies and International Trade
Hon. Ranjith Siyambalapitiya, Minister of Power and Renewable Energy
Hon. Rauff Hakeem, Minister of City Planning and Water Supply
Hon. Mohan Lal Grero, State Minister of Higher Education

Hon. Niroshan Perera, State Minister of National Policies and Economic Affairs

- Hon. (Dr.) (Mrs.) Sudarshini Fernandopulle, State Minister of City Planning and Water Supply
- Hon. A. D. Premadasa, State Minister of Industry and Commerce Affairs

Hon. Eran Wickramaratne, State Minister of Finance

- Hon. Lakshman Senewiratne, State Minister of Science, Technology and Research
- Hon. A. H. M. Fowzie, State Minister of National Integration and Reconciliation
- Hon. Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Deputy Minister of Finance and Mass Media
- Hon. Palitha Kumara Thewarapperuma, Deputy Minister of Internal Affairs, Wayamba Development and Cultural Affairs
- Hon. (Dr.) Harsha De Silva, Deputy Minister of National Policies and Economic Affairs
- Hon. Karunarathna Paranawithana, Deputy Minister of Skills Development and Vocational Training
- Hon. Susantha Punchinilame, Deputy Minister of Public Administration and Management
- Hon. Ajith P. Perera, Deputy Minister of Power and Renewable Energy

Hon. Hector Appuhamy

- Hon. Rohitha Abeygunawardana
- Hon. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena
- Hon. Sisira Kumara Abeysekara
- Hon. Thushara Indunil Amarasena
- Hon. Dullas Alahapperuma
- Hon. Ravi Karunanayake
- Hon. J. M. Ananda Kumarasiri
- Hon. Chandrasiri Gajadeera
- Hon. Udaya Prabhath Gammanpila
- Hon. Nihal Galappaththi
- Hon. Dinesh Gunawardena
- Hon. Bandula Gunawardane
- Hon. Sisira Jayakody
- Hon. (Dr.) Nalinda Jayathissa
- Hon. Nalin Bandara Jayamaha
- Hon. Anura Sidney Jayarathne

Hon. Lucky Jayawardana

Hon. Mylvaganam Thilakarajah

Hon. Sirinal de Mel

Hon. Piyal Nishantha De Silva

Hon. T. Ranjith De Zoysa

Hon. Anura Dissanayaka

Hon. Mohamed Navavi

Hon. Mohamadu Nazeer

Hon. Vasudeva Nanayakkara

Hon. K. K. Piyadasa

Hon. Sanath Nishantha Perera

Hon. Sujith Sanjaya Perera

Hon. Ashoka Priyantha

Hon. Bandula Lal Bandarigoda

Hon. Tharaka Balasuriya

Hon. Muhammad Ibrahim Muhammad Mansoor

Hon. (Prof.) Ashu Marasinghe

Hon. (Ven.) Athuraliye Rathana Thero

Hon. Prasanna Ranatunga

Hon. Prasanna Ranaweera

Hon. Mujibur Rahuman

Hon. Harshana Rajakaruna

Hon. Chamal Rajapaksa

Hon. Gamini Lokuge

Hon. Janaka Wakkumbura

Hon. (Mrs.) Pavithradevi Wanniarachchi

Hon. Vidura Wickramanayaka

Hon. (Dr.) Jayampathy Wickramaratne

Hon. Duleep Wijesekera

Hon. Kanchana Wijesekara

Hon. Heshan Withanage

Hon. Wimal Weerawansa

Hon. Kumara Welgama

Hon. Jayantha Samaraweera

Hon. Sandith Samarasinghe

### Hon. Sunil Handunnetti Hon. Wijepala Hettiarachchi

Mr. Dhammika Dasanayake, Secretary-General of Parliament Mr. Neil Iddawala, Chief of Staff and Deputy Secretary-General of Parliament Mrs. Kushani Rohanadeera, Assistant Secretary-General

Mr. Tikiri K. Jayathilake, Assistant Secretary-General

#### Parliament met pursuant to adjournment. The Speaker took the Chair.

**1. Official Oath or Affirmation by New Member :** Hon. Ahamadulebbe Mohamadu Nazeer, Member of Parliament, made and subscribed the Affirmation required by Law and signed the Book at the Table.

**2. Announcements by the Speaker :** The Speaker made the following announcement :- "The Gazette Notification convening Parliament will now be read out to the House by the Secretary-General of Parliament."

#### "NOTIFICATION BY MR. SPEAKER

#### Convening of the Parliament of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka on Tuesday, 06th February, 2018 at 10.30 a.m.

I, Karu Jayasuriya, Speaker of Parliament do hereby notify that in pursuance of Standing Order No. 14 of the Standing Orders of Parliament, I have summoned the Parliament to meet on Tuesday the 06th of February, 2018 at 10.30 a.m. having been requested so to do by the Hon. Prime Minister.

KARU JAYASURIYA, Speaker.

Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte, 30th January, 2018 "

**3.** Sittings of the Parliament (No.1) : The Leader of the House of Parliament moved,—That notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order No. 7 of the Parliament and the motion agreed to by Parliament on 08.03.2016, the hours of sitting this day shall be 10.30 a.m. to 4.00 p.m.. At 10.30 a.m. Standing Order No. 7(5) of the Parliament shall operate. At 4.00 p.m. Mr. Speaker shall adjourn the Parliament without question put.

Question put, and agreed to.

(4)

**4.** Sittings of the Parliament (No.2) : The Leader of the House of Parliament moved,— That this Parliament at its rising this day do adjourn until 10.00 a.m. on Monday, February 19, 2018.

Question put, and agreed to.

5. Adjournment (Reports of Presidential Commission of Inquiry to Investigate and Inquire into the Issuance of Treasury Bonds and Presidential Commission on Serious Acts of Fraud, Corruption and Abuse of Power, State Resources and **Privileges)**: The Minister of Lands and Parliamentary Reforms moved,— That this Parliament do now adjourn.

Question Proposed and debated.

(At 12.10 p.m. the Deputy Speaker took the Chair.)

The Minister of Higher Education and Highways moved,—That Hon. Lucky Jayawardena do take the Chair.

Question put, and agreed to.

(At 1.38 p.m. Hon. Lucky Jayawardena took the Chair.)

The Minister of Higher Education and Highways moved,—That Hon. J.M. Ananda Kumarasiri do take the Chair.

Question put, and agreed to.

(At 3.09 p.m. Hon. J.M. Ananda Kumarasiri took the Chair.)

Question put, and agreed to; the Parliament was at 4.00 p.m. adjourned until 10.00 a.m. on Monday, February 19, 2018 pursuant to the Resolution of Parliament of this day.