5

(Eighth Parliament - Second Session)

No. 4.]

## MINUTES OF PARLIAMENT

Friday, May 11, 2018 at 10.30 a.m.

## PRESENT:

Hon. Karu Jayasuriya, Speaker

Hon. Selvam Adaikkalanathan, Deputy Chairperson of Committees

Hon. John Amaratunga, Minister of Tourism Development and Christian Religious Affairs

Hon. Mahinda Amaraweera, Minister of Agriculture

- Hon. Gayantha Karunatileka, Minister of Lands and Parliamentary Reforms and Chief Government Whip
- Hon. Mano Ganesan, Minister of National Integration, Reconciliation and Official Languages
- Hon. Nimal Siripala de Silva, Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation

Hon. Gamini Jayawickrama Perera, Minister of Buddhasasana

- Hon. Ravindra Samaraweera, Minister of Labour & Trade Union Relations
- Hon. D. M. Swaminathan, Minister of Resettlement, Rehabilitation, Northern Development & Hindu Religious Affairs
- Hon. Rauff Hakeem, Minister of City Planning and Water Supply
- Hon. P. Harrison, Minister of Social Empowerment

Hon. Wasantha Aluwihare, State Minister of Agriculture

Hon. Niroshan Perera, State Minister of National Policies and Economic Affairs

- Hon. A. D. Premadasa, State Minister of Plantation Industries
- Hon. Eran Wickramaratne, State Minister of Finance
- Hon. Lakshman Senewiratne, State Minister of Science, Technology, Research, Skills Development & Vocational Training and Kandyan Heritage
- Hon. A. H. M. Fowzie, State Minister of National Integration and Reconciliation

Hon. Ashok Abeysinghe, Deputy Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation

Hon. Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Deputy Minister of Finance and Mass Media

Hon. J. C. Alawathuwala, Deputy Minister of Home Affairs

(2)

M. No. 4

Hon. Faizal Cassim, Deputy Minister of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine

Hon. Karunarathna Paranawithana, Deputy Minister of Science, Technology, Research, Skills Development & Vocational Training and Kandyan Heritage

Hon. Muthu Sivalingam, Deputy Minister of Social Welfare & Primary Industries

Hon. Hector Appuhamy Hon. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena Hon. Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena Hon. Dilum Amunugama Hon. Ananda Aluthgamage Hon. Ranjith Aluvihare Hon. A. Aravindh Kumar Hon. J. M. Ananda Kumarasiri Hon. Kaveendiran Kodeeswaran Hon. Chandrasiri Gajadeera Hon. Siripala Gamalath Hon. Udaya Prabhath Gammanpila Hon. Dinesh Gunawardena Hon. (Dr.) Bandula Gunawardane Hon. Edward Gunasekara Hon. Sisira Jayakody Hon. (Dr.) Nalinda Jayathissa Hon. Nalin Bandara Jayamaha Hon. Anura Sidney Jayarathne Hon. Anuradha Jayaratne Hon. Piyankara Jayaratne Hon. Lucky Jayawardana Hon. Dayasiri Jayasekara Hon. (Mrs.) Sumedha G. Jayasena Hon. K. Thurairetnasingam Hon. M. S. Thowfeek Hon. Sirinal de Mel Hon. Anura Dissanayaka Hon. S. B. Dissanayake Hon. Douglas Devananda Hon. Mohamed Navavi Hon. Vasudeva Nanayakkara Hon. Buddhika Pathirana Hon. (Dr.) Ramesh Pathirana

M. No. 4

Hon. K. K. Piyadasa Hon. Dilan Perera Hon. Sujith Sanjaya Perera Hon. Arundika Fernando Hon. (Dr.) (Mrs.) Sudarshini Fernandopulle Hon. Ashoka Priyantha Hon. Bandula Lal Bandarigoda Hon. Tharaka Balasuriya Hon. Vijitha Berugoda Hon. Muhammad Ibrahim Muhammad Mansoor Hon. S. M. Marikkar Hon. Imran Maharoof Hon. Ajith Mannapperuma Hon. S. C. Mutukumarana Hon. Bimal Rathnayake Hon. Ishak Rahuman Hon. Mujibur Rahuman Hon. Chamal Rajapaksa Hon. (Dr.) (Mrs.) Thusitha Wijemanna Hon. Duleep Wijesekera Hon. Heshan Withanage Hon. Thenuka Vidanagamage Hon. Chandima Weerakkody Hon. S. Shritharan Hon. Gnanamuthu Srineshan Hon. (Mrs.) Shanthi Sriskandarasa Hon. E. Saravanapavan Hon. Dharmalingam Sithadthan Hon. Annamalai Nadesu Sivasakthi Hon. M. A. Sumanthiran Hon. Mavai S. Senathirajah Hon. Shehan Semasinghe Hon. Kanaka Herath Mr. Dhammika Dasanayake, Secretary-General of Parliament

Mr. Neil Iddawala, Chief of Staff and Deputy Secretary-General of Parliament

Mrs. Kushani Rohanadeera, Assistant Secretary-General

Mr. Tikiri K. Jayathilake, Assistant Secretary-General

## Parliament met pursuant to adjournment. The Speaker took the Chair.

**1. Presentation of Papers :** The Minister of Lands and Parliamentary Reforms presented the Annual Report of Central Bank of Sri Lanka for the year 2017 and moved that this Report be referred to the Committee on Public Finance.

Question put, and agreed to.

2. Presentation of Reports from Committees : (1) Hon. Chamal Rajapaksa, the Chairman of the Sectoral Oversight Committee on Transport and Communication presented the Report of the said Committee on, "Civil Aviation (Amendment) Bill" which was referred to the said Committee.

Ordered that the said Report do lie upon the Table.

(2) Hon. (Dr.) (Mrs.) Thusitha Wijemanna, the Chairperson of the Sectoral Oversight Committee on Women and Gender presented the Report of the said Committee on, "Annual Performance Report of the Department of Probation and Childcare Services for the year 2016" which was referred to the said Committee.

Ordered that the said Report do lie upon the Table.

**3.** Shop and Office Employees (Regulation of Employment and Remuneration) (Amendment) : The Minister of Lands and Parliamentary Reforms on behalf of the Minister of Labour and Trade Union Relations presented the Bill to amend the Shop and Office Employees (Regulation of Employment and Remuneration) Act (Chapter 129).

The Bill was ordered to be read a second time on Tuesday May 22, 2018 and to be printed and to be referred to the relevant Sectoral Oversight Committee.

**4. Maternity Benefits (Amendment) :** The Minister of Lands and Parliamentary Reforms on behalf of the Minister of Labour and Trade Union Relations presented the Bill to amend the Maternity Benefits Ordinance (Chapter 140).

The Bill was ordered to be read a second time on Tuesday May 22, 2018 and to be printed and to be referred to the relevant Sectoral Oversight Committee.

**5. Business of the Parliament :** The Minister of Lands and Parliamentary Reforms moved,— That the Government Business shall have precedence this day.

Question put, and agreed to.

6. Civil Aviation (Amendment) Bill : Order for Second Reading read.

The Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation moved,— That the Bill be now read a second time.

(At 11.19 a.m. the Deputy Chairman of Committees took the Chair.)

(4)

The Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation moved,—That Hon. Kanaka Herath do take the Chair.

Question put, and agreed to.

(At 12.03 p.m. Hon. Kanaka Herath took the Chair.)

Bill accordingly read a second time.

The Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation moved,— That the Bill be referred to a Committee of the whole Parliament.

Question put, and agreed to.

Parliament immediately resolved itself into Committee.

(In the Committee)

The Presiding Member took the Chair.

Clauses 1 to 3 were agreed to.

Enacting Clause and Title

Question that the Enacting Clause and Title stand part of the Bill, put, and agreed to.

Bill reported without Amendments.

The Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation moved,— That the Bill, be now read the third time.

Question put, and agreed to.

Bill accordingly, read the third time and passed.

7. Adjournment : The Minister of Lands and Parliamentary Reforms moved,— That this Parliament do now adjourn.

Question put, and agreed to.

Question put, and agreed to; the Parliament was at 12.56 p.m. adjourned until 1.00 p.m. on Tuesday, May 22, 2018.